Enthusiasm Breeds Enthusiasm

Why I Became a Consultant

I often ask myself what my life would be like if I had a 9-5 job like the rest of my 24 year-old friends.

Well for one thing, I have serious FOMO (fear of missing out). Seriously, it gives me anxiety. If I worked “normal” hours I’d never have to miss another birthday celebration, social outing or anniversary.

I’d never miss a chanceΒ to take myΒ dog to the park for a little stroll, or to watchΒ the Cincinnati Reds taking on my hometown team, the Cleveland Indians, when the Rivals from Ohio meet in the next home-stand.

I’d never have to worry about always having extra toothbrushes, Pantene Pro-V Extra-Hold Mousse or contact cases lying around. I’d never again have to navigate my way around a new city, with un-marked streets and “jug-handles” (Hey New Jersey! TERRIBLE idea).

The pizza I sent my boyfriend for our 6 month anniversary. I was 3 time zones away in California at the time.

The pizza I sent my boyfriend for our 6 month anniversary. I was 3 time zones away in California at the time.

But my life would also be a hell of a lot more boring…

I became a consultant because I wanted to meet people from all walks of life. Because when I came home from my non 9-5 job, I actually wanted to have something to talk about. I know that as an SAP Consultant, I’m not saving the world. To the best of my knowledge, no one ever lived or died over an SAP implementation, but there is still something incredibly gratifying about the work I do. In high school, I served as Regional President of my youth group, BBYO; my predecessor repeatedly used to remind us that “enthusiasm breads enthusiasm.” This notion is something that I have carried with me for the last 10 years.

I became a consultant because I wanted to gain new experiences that would aid me professionally and personally. However, as I continue my career as an SAP Application Consultant I hope to remain fun-loving, but rational, I hope to share my expertise while being open to new ideas and I hope to continue to be the resource who even after a long 14-hour day, is able to look around the room, smile, and acknowledge the work that has been done and the work that there is still left to do.

And hey, the frequent flier miles aren’t so bad either.

Happy Wednesday!

@PostGradSAP

Tracy

2 thoughts on “Enthusiasm Breeds Enthusiasm

  1. Glad to see you used spelled check. Looks like it changed “mousse” to “mouse”….like in Mickey πŸ™‚

    Ben Collins.

    PS. Ever heard of Oracle? 😦

  2. FOMO. Thanks for introducing me to this term and giving me a way to express how I feel on a daily basis. God help me next year when I’m in Dallas and literally can’t do anything about my FOMO. Love you Tracy and love the blog.

Leave a Reply

