Book Review: Nice Girls Don’t Get The Corner Office

Nice Girls Don’t Get the Corner Office 101: Unconscious Mistakes Women Make That Sabotage Their Careers

by Lois P. Frankel, PhD

What constitutes a good book?

1. It’s quotable.

2. I’d recommend it to a friend.

3. It’s informative, but interesting. What I like to call miniskirt length: long enough to cover the details, but short enough to keep it interesting.

4. Makes you think.

5. Sticks with you even after you’re done reading it. I love that weird indescribable feeling of irony when you learn something new and then hear about it everywhere.

6. It’s relevent.

As part of my journey on the path to professionalism, I sought to find some quick reads that would broaden my literary horizons beyond the usual “chick-lit.” When I was little, I used to read a book a day. Although I will occasionally entertain the season’s hottest blockbuster, the text is ALWAYS better (hello Hunger Games, team Gale of course!). During college, you could count on me to be pleasure-reading on the sofa while my roommates spent countless hours at the Library with their heads buried in textbooks. I have stood in line at midnight, on multiple occasions, in anticipation of the next Harry Potter novel. Get the picture? I LOVE TO READ. When I find a good read, I am not to be interrupted.

Not So Expert Book Review:

I would give this read a solid 7/10. I will definitely refer to it in the years to come, as I begin to distinguish myself among my peer group. It was informative, but lacked the quirky anecdotes that I would have added had I had the literary prowess to write such an informative piece. AND IT IS BY FAR THE MOST RELEVENT COMPOSITION that my eyes have perused in the last 2 decades (which is about how long I’ve known my ABC’s).

The book starts with the author, who is an executive coach and trainer, reiterating an assertion that one client made at the beginning of a coaching engagement: “I want this to be more than I fond memory. I want a promotion.” I can’t imagine a greater gift that an author can bestow upon her readers than giving them a chance at a greater future. Without recounting the entire selection and the 253 pages of hormonally charged advice, I will give you a run-down of some of the greatest mistakes I have made as a woman in corporate America. Double standards do exist, it our job to refute the generalizations that plague our gender.

By making note of these inadequacies, I hope to make a conscious effort to override these subconscious idiosyncrasies and learned behaviors.
1. Give myself permission to waste a little time. Dedicate 5% of my day to building relationships.
2. There is a whole section on jerks and protecting them in the work space. One sound piece of advice: “When the jerk is your boss, it’s time to look for another job.”
3. When a personal situation is affecting your ability to do your job, be honest, but brief and don’t give away too many specifics.
4. Practice your handshake.
5. Forward notes of appreciation or acknowledgement about your work to your manager.
6. Ask someone in your Finance department to explain the basics.
7. Go to the makeup counter of a high-end department store and ask a salesperson for a free consultation.
8. Never sit with your foot tucked beneath you (I always do this!).
9. If you can’t be the first to speak, make sure you’re not the last.

On another note, here is a little something to give the women out there something to brag about:
Women on Top: A list of those not-so-nice girls (CEOs) sitting sky-high on the Fortune 1000 List.

Happy Monday to all my soul sistas out there!
@PostGradSAP
Tracy

Leave a Reply

