SNAP Challenge: Day 1 in Review

Day 1 in review… JJ and I both went to bed with full bellies and happy hearts. On a typical day, I wouldn’t have bread or pasta with every meal, but aside from a lack of beef or poultry, I think we kept it balanced.

Bragworthy tidbit: The boyfriend and I ate an awesome dinner, for 2, for under $2.00. Who knew that was even possible?

 

Breakfast:

Dinner is Served!

Dinner is Served!

  • Tracy: 1 banana, 1/2 PB&J Sandwich (made with the heel)
  • Josh: Oatmeal with cinnamon, 1 apple

Lunch:

  • Tracy: Egg salad sandwich, 1 carrot, 1 cup applesauce
  • Josh: Rice and beans with chili sauce, yogurt with cinnamon

Dinner:

  • Both: Pasta with mushroom marinara cooked with frozen spinach and peas topped with shredded pepper-jack.

 

One of the things that I have definitely cut out of my daily routine is the glass (or 6) of diet coke I usually drink around lunchtime. Luckily, it’s not something I feel dependent on. Others who have taken the challenge find that the biggest sacrifice is often due to not enough or lower quality coffee. Luckily, neither of us have a taste for the stuff. Last night, after dinner, I was craving a taste of something sweet, but disallowed myself from opening one of the cans of fruit, for fear of running low on food throughout the week.  I also realized that our loaves of bread contain only 20 slices, not 22 as I had originally thought, so I intend to cut out the crust from my lunch later on this week.

Day 2 is upon us and I’m already feeling much more positive than I was during our dramatic shopping trip on Sunday.

 

Orange you glad I didn’t say Venti Non-Fat Chai Latte with one and a half Splenda?

@PostGradSAP

Tracy

Leave a Reply

