SNAP Challenge: Day 4 in Review

Breakfast:

  • Tracy: 1/2 PB&J, banana
  • Josh: Hard-boiled egg, oatmeal with cinnamon

Lunch:

  • Tracy: Grilled cheese sandwich, carrot, applesaurce
  • Josh: Tuna sandwich with american cheese, leftover rice and chicken and veggies, PB&J sandwich (snack)

Dinner:

  • Both: Pasta with marinara with frozen peas and spinach and 2 chicken breasts.

“Dessert”:

  • Josh: Banana

 

I’m not too concerned with my groceries running out before the end of the week, I think we have plenty of food. In particular, we have a good amount of frozen vegetables left, a full head of brocooli, 2 chicken breasts, 2 sweet potatoes, an abundance of rice and oatmeal, a box of pasta and a fair amount of canned fruit. We’ve already run out of tomato sauce (we may use our extra funds to buy another jar) and are running low on PB&J and pepper-jack cheese. I’m mostly concerned about Sunday… we are going to an all-day conference and I don’t know if we have enough “cold lunch options” left. Guess we’ll have to get creative and improvise. Did I mention we have 5/6 packages of Ramen left?

One of the other things I’ve noticed is what I’ve actually been using MORE of this week. Plastic baggies, tupperware, kitchen cleaning supplies, dishwasher detergent (had to run it in the middle of the week!)… none of these items are covered by the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program. JJ and I are also lucky enough to have a wide variety of kitchen utentsils and cookware, which makes preparing meals much easier. Upon reviewing the blogs of people who have taken the challenge previously, some of them mentioned that their concentration has suffered at work and that they find themselves having a difficult time focusing or have become more irratable. Although JJ and I haven’t experienced these side affects throughout the week, I did notice a change in our positive energy last night. JJ got home from a long day of work, I had been working from home and had yet to get out of my PJs… I asked him to join me to gather the last few finishing touches in order to create our Halloween costumes for a party we are attending this weekend. The outing took longer than expected, turrential downpour coupled with the fact that we made a quick detour to PetsMart for supplies for Mr.Markley and Mrs.Misha. Anyways, it was nearly 9:00 by the time we got home and I wanted nothing more than to stop the car, jump out at our favorite sushi-to-go spot and have a meal prepared by the time we got home. Instead, both of remained “hangry” (hungry+angry) until our bellies were full with pasta, nearly 45 minutes later.

The perks of working from home. I'm naming this photograph "Don't Hate Me Because I'm Beautiful."

The perks of working from home. I’m naming this photograph “Don’t Hate Me Because I’m Beautiful.”

I will say, that there has been one major benefit of the challenge (aside from the self-induced portion control). JJ and I have been able to spend much more quality time together. We aren’t running around (proverbally speaking, still running in preparation for the 5K next week) to meet friends or host dinners. With the shopping out of the way, we’ve really been able to relax and enjoy some quality time.

@PostGradSAP

Tracy

Leave a Reply

